The Blog to Transform Advanced Care

Advancing Care through Innovation, Observation and Collaboration.

C-TAC Announces National Summit Award Recipients

C-TAC is proud to announce this year’s Founders and Campaign Leadership award recipients. These inaugural awards will be accepted by Michael Peterson, President and CEO, Peter G. Peterson Foundation, on behalf of Pete and the Foundation, and Patrick Conway, President and CEO, Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Carolina. Progress in the advanced care movement couldn’t be achieved without these distinguished leaders. The awards will be presented during a recognition reception at the 2017 National Summit on Advanced Illness Care.

Pete Peterson is the founder and chairman of the Peter G. Peterson Foundation, an organization dedicated to raising public awareness of America’s long-term fiscal challenges and promoting solutions to ensure a better economic future. In 2014, the Foundation established the Peterson Center on Healthcare with the mission of making higher quality, more affordable healthcare a reality for all Americans. The Center is working to transform U.S. healthcare into a high-performance system by finding innovative solutions that improve quality and lower costs and accelerating their adoption on a national scale. Pete has served as the US Secretary of Commerce, was Chairman and CEO of Bell & Howell, and co-founded the Blackstone Group, a private equity firm. He also served as Chairman of the Council on Foreign relations, where he is now chairman emeritus. In 2011, he signed “the Giving Pledge,” thereby committing to donate at least half his wealth to philanthropic causes. For his charitable efforts and support of the advanced care transformation movement, Pete and the Foundation will be honored with the Founders Award.

Before joining Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Carolina, Patrick previously served as the Chief Medical Officer of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, as well as deputy administrator for Innovation and Quality, and director of the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Innovation. As head of CMS’ Innovation Center, Dr. Conway was instrumental in the shift towards value-based care and, in 2014, he was elected to the National Academy of Medicine Institute of Medicine. In recognition of Dr. Conway’s achievements in transforming the policy landscape of advanced illness care, Dr. Conway will be presented with the Campaign Leadership award.

The Founders award is given to an individual or organization who has demonstrated visionary leadership in transforming advanced illness care. The Campaign Leadership is awarded to an individual or organization who has championed one of the three pillars of the Campaign to Transform Advanced Illness Care: policy and advocacy, support for family caregivers, or state and community organizing.

Join us in Washington, DC this November 27-29 for the 2017 National Summit and hear from industry leaders on a range of topics including policy, delivery system reform, community engagement, caregiver support, and more.

Share This

Leave a Comment