C-TAC News

The Blog to Transform Advanced Care

Advancing Care through Innovation, Observation and Collaboration.

Alameda County Care Alliance (ACCA) and UC Davis Selected As One of Two Programs to Receive The Prestigious Hillman Innovations in Care Program Award

Alameda County Care Alliance (ACCA) and UC Davis Selected As One of Two Programs to Receive The Prestigious Hillman Innovations in Care Program Award

December 9, 2016 – The Rita & Alex Hillman Foundation has announced the 2016 recipients of the Hillman Innovations in Care Program, a multi-year initiative funding leading edge, nursing-driven programs that address the healthcare needs of vulnerable populations. The Alameda County Care Alliance (ACCA) was one of two programs selected from over 160 applicants to receive a $600,000 three-year grant


The ACCA, in partnership with C-TAC, is an alliance of faith leaders in Alameda County, California, all centered around the goal to pilot a replicable, community-based model to improve the quality of life for persons with advanced illness and family caregivers. “C-TAC is proud to be a partner in this important initiative in spreading the ACCA program findings,” said Jon Broyles, Executive Director, C-TAC.


Funding will also be used to train additional care navigators and volunteer care ministers, to promote the program through community outreach, and to continue to support ongoing data collection that has provided evidence of the program’s success. Partnerships with Kaiser Permanente and C-TAC will contribute to the spread and scale of the model.


“This year’s grant recipients are potential game changers,” said Ahrin Mishan, Executive Director of the Hillman Foundation. “Each person-centered, community-focused program is uniquely positioned to make a national impact on the care of underserved populations with advanced illnesses.”


Please click here for more information on the Hillman Innovations in Care Program or to access the RFP.





About the Hillman Innovations in Care Program
The goal of the Hillman Innovations in Care Program is to advance leading edge, nursing-driven models of care that improve the health and health care of vulnerable populations, including the economically disadvantaged, racial and ethnic minorities, LGBQT, the homeless, rural populations, and other groups that encounter barriers to accessing healthcare services. The foundation is specifically interested in proposals that address maternal and child health, care of the older adult, and chronic illness management. The Foundation will accept submissions for the next round of proposals in March 2017, and will award grants again in late 2017.


About C-TAC
C-TAC is a non-profit, non-partisan coalition comprised of over 140 national organizations including patient and consumer advocacy groups, health care professionals and providers, private sector stakeholders, faith-based organizations, and health care payers that share a common vision of improving advanced illness care for all Americans. The Coalition works to ensure that all those with advanced illness, especially the sickest and most vulnerable, receive comprehensive, high-quality, person- and family-centered care that is consistent with their goals and values and honors their dignity. Stay in touch with C-TAC at www.thectac.org and on Twitter @CTACOrg.


Defining Advanced Illness Care
C-TAC defines advanced illness care as care that occurs when one or more conditions becomes serious enough that general health and functioning begin to decline, treatment may no longer lead to preferred outcomes, and care oriented toward comfort may take precedence over attempts to cure – a process that extends to the end of life.


Leave a Comment